القائمة الرئيسية
EN
تقرير مؤسسة الحق الميداني حول انتهاكات عام 2019
06، يناير 2020

تقرير مؤسسة الحق الميداني حول انتهاكات عام 2019

  • استشهاد 141 فلسطينيًا/ة، 112 منهم أصيبوا في الجزء العلوي من الجسم.
  • هدم 180 مسكنًا، و169 منشأة خاصة من غير المساكن، و13 منشأة عامة، وتهجير 669 فلسطينيًا/ منهم 122 لاجئين أصلًا. تقع 246 منشأة بالقرب من مستوطنات أو مخططات استيطانية.

*مقدمة:

لم تكن حالة حقوق الإنسان في عام 2019 أفضل مما كانت عليه الحال عام 2018، ومن المؤكد أن القارئ لهذا التقرير الذي بين أيدينا سيخرج باستنتاج قاطع بأن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة ازدادت، وحالة حقوق الإنسان ساءت إجمالًا، مقارنة بالعام السابق.

فعلى صعيد الاحتلال، ازدادت وتيرة هدم المنشآت الفلسطينية بشكل كبير جدًا، وإن تركّز الهدم في مدينة القدس ومناطق "ج". في الوقت الذي تواصلت سياسات الاحتلال في استسهال إطلاق النار على الفلسطينيين ما أوقع كثير من الشهداء والجرحى، بالإضافة إلى الاعتقالات ومداهمات القرى والبلدات والمدن الفلسطينية. وفي ذات الوقت، تصاعد حجم اعتداءات المستوطنين على البلدات الفلسطينية بشكلٍ يكمّل اعتداءات دولة الاحتلال وفي إطار المضايقات اليومية التي يتعرض لها الفلسطينيون في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة.

أما على الصعيد الداخلي، لم يكن الواقع أقل سوءً، ويظهر أن سياسة التضييق وارتكاب مخالفات لحقوق الإنسان اتسعت كمًا وعددًا، لا سيّما الاعتداءات على  حرية الرأي والتعبير أو خلفية ممارسة نشاطات سياسية وحقوقية، بالإضافة إلى تقييد عمل وسائل الإعلام والناشطين على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

وفيما يلي توصيف لحالة حقوق الإنسان ميدانيًا بعيون مؤسسة الحق.

*الشهداء.

بلغ عدد الشهداء الفلسطينيين خلال العام المنصرم 141 شهيدًا/ة، منهم 4 معتقلين استشهدوا في سجون الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، وهم: بسام السايح، ونصار طقاطقة، وياسر شتية، وسامي أبو دياك. في حين استشهد 303 فلسطينيين/ات خلال عام 2018.

قتلت قوات الاحتلال تقريبًا كافة الضحايا باستثناء اثنين، قتلهم مستوطنون، وهما الشهيد حمدي طالب نعسان من قرية المغيّر قضاء رام الله، والشهيد عبد محمد عبد المنعم عبد الفتاح من سلفيت.

واستشهد من المجمل 17 فلسطينيًا/ة في ظروف هادئة تمامًا، قتلتهم سلطات الاحتلال دون وجود أي توترات في منطقة الاستشهاد. في حين استشهد بقية الفلسطينيين في ظروف متوترة آنيًا أو في إطار هجوم إسرائيلي على قطاع غزة. ومن إجمالي عدد الشهداء، استشهد 38 فلسطينيًا/ة أثناء المشاركة في مسيرات ضد الاحتلال أو التواجد بالقرب من المسيرات، واستشهد اثنان بالقرب من حواجز الاحتلال.

وفي حالتين على الأقل، من مجمل حالات القتل، أعاقت سلطات الاحتلال محاولات الفلسطينيين إسعاف الجرحى قبل استشهادهم، لكن في 114 حالة استشهاد من المجمل، أي الغالبية العظمى من الشهداء، لم يقدم فيها جنود الاحتلال إسعافات أولية للجرحى الفلسطينيين بعد إطلاق النار عليهم.

 ومن مجمل الشهداء، كان اثنان قد استهدفتهما سلطات الاحتلال بإعدام مستهدف، وأعلنت سلطات الاحتلال أن قرارًا اتخذ باغتيالهما، وهما: حامد أحمد الخضري وبهاء أبو العطا.

وكانت إصابات 112 من الشهداء في القسم العلوي، أو في أنحاء متعددة من الجسم بما فيها الجزء العلوي منه، و8 استشهدوا تحت الأنقاض، والبقية استشهدوا بعد إصابتهم في القسم السفلي من الجسم فقط، أي أن السواد الأعظم من الإصابات كان في القسم العلوي من الجسم، ما قد يشير إلى تعمد القتل.

وبلغ عدد الشهداء الأطفال، من مجمل شهداء عام 2019، 28 طفلًا/ة، في حين بلغ عدد الشهيدات النساء خلال نفس العام 9 شهيدات.

بلغ عدد الشهداء الذين ارتقوا خلال مسيرات العودة عام 2019، 35 شهيدًا/ة، 20 منهم استشهدوا بعد صدور تقرير لجنة التحقيق الأممية الخاصة باحتجاجات عام 2018 في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة بتاريخ 22 آذار/مارس المنصرم حتى نهاية العام، في الوقت الذي استشهد فيه 180 شهيدًا/ة خلال عام 2018 في مسيرات العودة.

وقد بلغ عدد الشهداء في مسيرات العودة منذ بدايتها في نهاية آذار/مارس 2018 حتى نهاية عام 2019،  215 شهيدًا/ة، منهم 2 صحافيين و4 مسعفين و7 أشخاص من ذوي الإعاقة و3 نساء و47 طفلًا. 

واحتجزت سلطات الاحتلال جثامين 20 شهيدًا خلال العام، ولا زالت جثامين 52 شهيدًا محتجزة حتى الآن منذ هبّة أكتوبر 2015 حتى نهاية العام المنصرم.

وكانت سلطات الاحتلال قد شنت هجومين عسكريين على قطاع غزة خلال العام المنصرم، الأول امتد من 3-5/5/2019، قتلت قوات الاحتلال خلاله 25 فلسطينيًا، في حين شنت قوات الاحتلال هجومًا عسكريًا آخر امتد من 12-14/11/2019 على قطاع غزة استشهد خلاله 34 فلسطينيًا/ة.

*الهدم.

هدمت سلطات الاحتلال ما مجمله 362 منشأة خاصة وعامة خلال العام.

مساكن: بلغ عدد المساكن المهدومة خلال العام المنصرم 180 منزلًا، وهو ما يشكل ارتفاعًا حادًا بنسبة 42.8% في حالات  هدم المساكن مقارنة بعام 2018 الذي هدمت سلطات الاحتلال خلاله 126 مسكنًا. وقد هدمت الغالبية العظمى من المساكن على خلفية ذرائع تتعلق بعدم الترخيص، ما يساوي 170 مسكنًا، في حين هدمت 10 مساكن من الإجمالي لأسباب عقابية (حالتان في الخليل، وحالتان في كوبر وحالة في يطا، وحالة في البيرة، وأربع حالات في بيت كاحل، هجرت 22 فلسطينيًا/ة منهم 13 امرأة وفتاة، و7 أطفال).

يقع 64 منزلًا من المنازل المهدومة في مدينة القدس، و97 منزلًا في المناطق المصنفة "ج"، و9 في مناطق "ب"، و10 في المناطق المصنفة "أ".

 

أدى الهدم إلى تهجير 669 شخصًا منهم 319 امرأة وفتاة، ومن المجمل 271 طفلًا/ة و163 طالب/ة مدرسة، و122 من مجمل المهجرين لاجئين/ات أصلًا.

وهجر الهدم في مدينة القدس ما مجموعه 236 فلسطينيًا/ة، موزعون على 116 امرأة وفتاة، منهم 122 طفلًا/ة، ومن المجمل 74 طالب/ة مدرسة و28 لاجئًا/ة.

ويقع 130 من المساكن المهدومة بالقرب من مستوطنات أو جدار الضم أو مناطق مهددة بمشاريع استيطانية أو أراضٍ مهددة بالمصادرة . وهدم 47 مسكنًا من مجمل المساكن المهدومة أثناء إنشائه، وبقية المساكن هدمت تامة البناء وغالبيتها العظمى مأهولة بالسكان. ولم تمنح سلطات الاحتلال 73 عائلة فرصة إخلاء محتويات المساكن قبل تنفيذ عمليات الهدم. واعترض ملّاك 98 مسكنًا بعد وصول إخطار بالهدم، وقدموا اعتراضات إلى جهات رسمية إسرائيلية بغرض منع الهدم، إلا أن الهدم نفذ. كما أن 36 منزلًا من المجمل كان قد هدم في السابق مرة أو أكثر، ويهدم الآن مرة أخرى بعد أن أعيد بناؤه، و44 هدم لهم مسكن آخر في السابق.

كما تعرضت 47 عائلة لمضايقات واعتداءات  كالضرب أثناء الهدم، وفرض منع التجوال الجزئي على الأقل أثناء الهدم في 30 حالة. و6 من البيوت المهدومة لم تكن ملك أصحابها، ما تسبب في خسارة العائلة المقيمة بالإضافة إلى مالك المنزل. واضطرت الغالبية العظمى من العائلات إلى استئجار شقق سكنية بعد الهدم أو اللجوء إلى منازل أقارب أو أصدقاء وجيران لحين استئجار شقق سكنية تأويهم.

منشآت خاصة من غير المساكن: بلغ عدد المنشآت الخاصة المهدومة 169 منشأة خلال عام 2019، يقع 128 منها في مناطق "ج" حسب اتفاقية أوسلو، و41 منشأة داخل حدود بلدية القدس.

وتقع 112 منشأة من مجمل المنشآت المهدومة بالقرب من مستوطنات أو شوارع التفافية أو جدار الضم أو مخططات استيطانية. والأخطر من ذلك أن 97 منشأة من مجمل المنشآت المهدومة تعد مصدر رزقٍ رئيسيٍ لأفراد العائلة المالكة. 

وكانت 11 منشأة فقط قيد الإنشاء أثناء الهدم، في حين كانت بقية المنشآت تامة البناء عندما هدمت. وكان قد قدم 27 مالكًا/ة طلبًا لترخيص البناء قبل البناء أو قبل الهدم، علمًا بأن هذا الرقم منخفض لأن سلطات الاحتلال لا تقدم رخص بناء لذلك يحجم الفلسطينيون عن التقدم برخص بناء، لكن التقدم برخص بناء لم يساعد المتقدمين بالحصول على رخص ولا بحمايتهم من الهدم، فقد هدمت منشآتهم كغيرهم الذين لم يتقدموا برخص بناء. بل واعترض 48 مالكًا/ة من المنشآت المخطرة بالهدم رسميًا إلا أن سلطات الاحتلال رفضت اعتراضاتهم الرسمية وأقدمت على هدم المنشآت. ويدل ذلك على أن التقدم للآليات القانونية التي يدعي الاحتلال بإمكان الفلسطينيين سلوكها لا تغير سياسة الاحتلال وتفيد بتواطؤ المنظومة القانونية الإسرائيلية في الاحتلال الإسرائيلي.

علمًا بان 41 عائلة مالكة سبق وأن تعرضت لانتهاكات واعتداءات أخرى ارتكبتها سلطات الاحتلال ضد العائلة قبل الهدم، وليس بالضرورة لها صلة بالهدم، مثل هدم منشآت أخرى سابقة أو قتل أو اعتقال أفراد عائلة أو الاعتداء عليهم. ومن مجمل المهدوم، فإن 34 منشأة تهدم الآن للمرة الثانية على الأقل بعد أن أعيد بناؤها وتعافي العائلة من الهدم السابق. وقال ملّاك 82 منشأة من المجمل أن سلطات الاحتلال لم تمنحهم فرصة لإخلاء مقتنيات منشآتهم قبل هدمها.

ممتلكات عامة: هدمت سلطات الاحتلال 13 منشأة عامة، منها 12 منشأة في مناطق "ج"، 9 منها عبارة عن آبار مياه و2 مساجد، وخيمة تضامن، ومقصف مدرسة.  تقع 8 من مجمل الممتلكات العامة المهدومة  في يطا ومسافرها.

 

 

وقد قدمت مؤسسات حقوقية اعتراضات رسمية على قرارات هدم 7 من المنشآت المذكورة قبل الهدم، إلا أن ذلك لم يجدِ نفعًا، ونفذ الهدم تحت ذرائع أن الممتلكات شيّدت في أراضٍ عسكرية مغلقة أو أراضِ دولة. علمًا بأن 3 من المنشآت تقع في مسار جدار الفصل والضم العنصري، ومنشأة واحدة تقع في منطقة تخطط دولة الاحتلال إقامة حدائق وشوارع ومبانٍ استيطانية.

 

*انتهاكات أخرى.[1]

ارتكتب سلطات الاحتلال والمستوطنون مئات الانتهاكات الأخرى خلال العام المنصرم، وقد وثقّت مؤسسة الحق ارتكاب قوات الاحتلال 935 انتهاكًا، بالإضافة إلى القتل والهدم، تنوعت بين الاعتقالات والمصادرات والإصابات ومداهمات البيوت وتفتيشها، والضرب والتنكيل والتعذيب، فضلًا عن الاعتداء على طواقم الإسعاف ورفض منح تصاريح مرور أو علاج واعتداءات أخرى على الحق في الحركة.

كما وثقت الحق ارتكاب مستوطنين  236 انتهاكًا من مجمل الانتهاكات الإسرائيلية الأخرى، لعل أبرز الانتهاكات تمثّل في إلقاء حجارة على المنازل والمارة وإصابات الكثيرين بجروح، بالإضافة إلى مهاجمة البلدات الفلسطينية وخط شعارات عنصرية على الجدران والمركبات والبيوت وإعطاب إطارات المركبات. كما تعددت محاولات المستوطنين الاستيلاء على أراضٍ خاصة فلسطينية، وكذلك الحال منع الفلسطينيين من الوصول إلى أراضيهم ومضايقتهم. وبرزت كذلك الحال حالات حرق المستوطنين لأشجار أو محاصيل زراعية فلسطينية أو قطع الأشجار واقتلاعها أو سرقة الثمار.

وتركز  قسم كبير من اعتداءات المستوطنين في قرى مدينة نابلس، لا سيّما قريتي بورين وعوريف وحوارة، وغالبًا ما كان المعتدون من مستوطنة إيتسهار. غير أن اعتداءات المستوطنين طالت كافة محافظات الضفة الغربية، بما في ذلك مدينة القدس المحتلة، فقد  استهدفت انتهاكات المستوطنين واعتداءاتهم حوالي 60 بلدة ومدينة وقرية فلسطينية.

*اعتداءات السلطة الفلسطينية وسلطة الأمر الواقع في قطاع غزة.[2]

ارتكبت السلطة الفلسطينية وسلطة الأمر الواقع في قطاع غزة انتهاكات كثيرة خلال العام وثقت الحق 796 انتهاكًا منها . وتعددت أصناف الانتهاكات، لكن أبرزها الاحتجاز التعسفي بواقع 192 انتهاكًا، بالمقارنة مع 135 حالة احتجاز تعسفي وثقتها مؤسسة الحق عام 2018.

وبلغ عدد الانتهاكات على شكل إهانات وإذلال 19 انتهاكًا، والاستدعاءات لمقابلة جهات أمنية بواقع 61 انتهاكًا، مقارنة مع 27 حالة استدعاء وثقتها مؤسسة الحق عام 2018 في ارتفاع مقلق. وبلغ عدد إنتهاكات الحق في أوضاع إنسانية أثناء الاحتجاز 49 انتهاكًا، و37 انتهاك حرية رأي وتعبير، و49 انتهاك تفتيش أو دخول منازل دون إذن قضائي، و144  انتهاك تتعلق بسوء معاملة و/ أو التعذيب، والتنكيل والضرب، و9 انتهاكات عدم تنفيذ قرارات قضائية، و26 حالة مصادرة أجهزة، و47 انتهاك فرض رقابة على وسائل الإعلام أو التواصل الاجتماعي وغيرها، بالإضافة إلى 157 انتهاكًا آخر تنوع ما بين مصادرة أموال أو إصابات أو إساءة استعمال السلطة أو قطع رواتب أو إلحاق ضرر بمحتويات منازل وغيرها من الانتهاكات.

ويمكن القول إجمالًا أن مؤشر انتهاكات الأجهزة الأمنية الفلسطينية ارتفع بشكلٍ مقلق في عام 2019 عن عام 2018.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، اعتدت  الأجهزة الأمنية على و/أو منعت إقامة 7 تجمعات سلمية خلال العام المنصرم، وهي على النحو التالي:

  1. الشرطة في قطاع غزة تفض تجمع إيقاد شعلة ذكرى انطلاقة حركة فتح في مدينة غزة بتاريخ 5/1/2019.
  2. الاعتداء على عدد كبير من التحركات والمظاهرات بين 14-18/3/2019 ضمن "حراك بدنا نعيش" في قطاع غزة من مجموعة من الأجهزة الأمنية وأفراد مدنيين اعتداء.
  3. الاعتداء على اعتصام سلمي أمام المقاطعة في رام الله من قبل الشرطة بتاريخ 21/3/2019.
  4. الاعتداء على مسيرة مؤيدة للرئيس عباس في مخيم جباليا من الشرطة والأمن الداخلي بتاريخ 23/2/2019. 
  5. الاعتداء على مسيرة مؤيدة للرئيس في مخيم المغازي بتاريخ 24/2/2019 من قبل الشرطة الفلسطينية. 
  6. فرض قيود على اعتصام سلمي للمتقاعدين العسكريين في رام الله في 4/9/2019 من قبل قوات مشتركة من الأجهزة الأمنية الفلسطينية.
  7. استدعت الأجهزة الأمنية في قطاع غزة كوادر من حركة فتح، وذلك على امتداد عدة أيام من 6-8/11/2019، بهدف منعهم من إقامة تجمع لإحياء ذكرى وفاة الرئيس ياسر عرفات في قطاع غزة.

ووصل مدى الانتهاكات الفلسطينية ضد الحريات إلى ذروة غير مسبوقة من خلال حجب عشرات المواقع الإلكترونية الإخبارية في فلسطين، استنادًا لقرار بقانون "الجرائم الإلكترونية"، فقد أصدرت محكمة صلح رام الله قرارًا بحجب حوالي 58 موقعًا إلكترونيًا وإخبار

Main Menu
ع
Al-Haq Field Report on Human Rights Violations in 2019
04، Feb 2020
  • 141 Palestinians killed, including 112 due to their lethal injuries in the upper part of the body.  
  • 180 homes, 169 other private structures, and 13 public facilities demolished, displacing 669 Palestinians, including 122 original refugees. Of these, 246 were located in close proximity to Israeli settlements or planned settlement areas.  

 

Introduction

The situation of human rights was not better in 2019 than it was in 2018. Any reader of this report will definitely conclude that human rights violations across the Occupied Palestinian Territory (OPT) increased. Compared to the previous year, the human rights situation saw a general decline. 

The pace of demolition of Palestinian structures by the Israeli Occupying Forces (IOF) marked a significant rise, mostly affecting in East Jerusalem and Area C. The IOF continued to apply an unrestrained shoot-to-kill policy, killing and injuring many Palestinians. In addition to arrests, the IOF raided Palestinian villages, towns and cities. At the same time, Israeli settler attacks on Palestinian communities escalated. Complementing IOF assaults, Israeli settler violence was part and parcel of everyday encroachments on Palestinians throughout the OPT. 

Internally, the human rights situation was not less dire. Apparently, restrictions on, and abuses of, human rights exacerbated both quantitatively and qualitatively. In particular, infringements targeted the right to freedom of opinion and expression, political and human rights activities, freedom of the press, and social media activists. 

Below is an account of the human rights situation from the perspective of Al-Haq. 

 

Killings

In 2019, 141 Palestinians were killed by the IOF. Of these, four Palestinian political prisoners died in Israeli prisons, namely, Bassam al-Sayeh, Nassar Taqatqah, Yasser Shtayyeh, and Sami Abu Dyak. By contrast, 303 Palestinians were killed in 2018. 

Almost all Palestinian martyrs were targeted by the IOF. Two Palestinians were killed by Israeli settlers: Hamdi Taleb Na'san, a resident of the Al-Mughayyir village (Ramallah), and Abed Mohammed Abdul Mun'em Abdul Fattah, a resident of Salfit. 

Of all 141 Palestinians who were killed by the IOF, 17 were killed in completely calm circumstances, as the IOF killed these Palestinians in tension-free areas. The remaining Palestinians were killed in tense circumstances or in the context of Israeli attacks on the Gaza Strip. Further, 38 Palestinians were killed while participating in protests against the Israeli occupation or when they were in close proximity to protests, as two Palestinians lost their lives near Israeli checkpoints. 

In at least two cases, the IOF hampered Palestinian attempts to evacuate the wounded before they died. However, the vast majority of killed Palestinian in 2019, 114 to be exact, did not receive first aid from the IOF, who shot them. 

Of the 141 killed Palestinians, two were extra-judicially killed by the IOF. The Israeli occupying authorities announced that decisions had been made to take the lives of Hamed Ahmed al-Khudhari and Baha' Abu al-Ata. 

Notably, 112 of the killed Palestinians sustained wounds in the upper part of the body or were hit by multiple injuries, including in the upper part of the body. Eight Palestinians died under the rubble. The rest died of injuries sustained in the lower part of the body only. In other words, the great majority of injuries hit the upper parts of the body, indicating excessive use of force. 

Of all Palestinians killed in 2019, 28 were children and nine were women. 

In 2019, a total of 35 Palestinians were killed in the context of the Great Return March (GRM) protests. Of these, towards the end of 2019, 20 Palestinians were after the Report of the United Nations Commission of Inquiry on the 2018 protests in the Occupied Palestinian Territory had been released on 22 March 2019. In 2018, 180 Palestinians were killed in the GRM protests. 

Since the GRM demonstrations began in late March 2018, towards the end of 2019, 215 Palestinians were killed. These included forty-seven children, three women, two journalists, four medics, and seven persons with disabilities. 

In 2019, the Israeli occupying authorities withheld the bodies of 20 Palestinians. Further, Israel continued to withhold the bodies of 52 Palestinians since October 2015 until the end of 2019. 

The IOF launched two military offensives on the Gaza Strip in 2019. In the first offensive, which took place from 3 May 2019 until 5 May 2019, the IOF killed 25 Palestinians. In the second, which also lasted three days from 12 November 2019 until 14 November 2019, 34 Palestinians were murdered by the IOF. 

 

Demolitions

In 2019, the IOF demolished a total of 362 private and public structures across the OPT.

Homes: During the reporting period, the IOF demolished 180 homes, representing a sharp rise of 42.8 percent in comparison to 126 homes destroyed in 2018. The vast majority of affected Palestinian homes (170) were demolished on grounds of lacking Israeli-issued building permits. Of all demolitions, 10 homes were destroyed on punitive grounds, including two in Hebron, one in Kobar (Ramallah), one in Yatta (Hebron), one in Al-Bireh, and four in Beit Kahil (Hebron). The latter resulted in the displacement of 22 Palestinians, including 13 women, one girl, and seven children. 

Sixty-four demolished homes were located in the city of Jerusalem, ninety-seven in Area C, nine in Area B, and ten in Area A. 

House demolitions resulted in the displacement of 669 persons, including 319 women and girls. Of all those displaced, 271 were children, 163 school students, and 122 original refugees.

 

In occupied East Jerusalem, a total of 236 Palestinians were displaced, including 116 women and girls, 122 children, 74 school students, and 28 refugees. 

Of those demolished, 130 houses were located in close proximity to Israeli settlements, the Annexation Wall, planned settlement areas, or land under the threat of confiscation. While forty-seven (47) were under still construction, all other demolished houses were completed, as the absolute majority of the latter were inhabited. The Israeli occupying authorities did not allow the house owners of 73 homes to evacuate their belongings before the demolitions were carried out. Having received demolition orders, the owners of 98 homes lodged objections to official Israeli authorities to prevent the demolition of their houses. However, their requests were denied as their houses were demolished. Further, thirty-six (36) houses were demolished at least once prior to the latest demolition. Forty-four (44) families had other houses, which had also been demolished earlier. 

During houses demolitions, members of 47 affected families were harassed, attacked, or physically assaulted. Partial curfews were imposed during 30 incidents of house demolitions. At the time of demolition, six demolished houses were not owned by their inhabitants, causing loss for both the residents and the house owners. After their houses had been pulled down, the vast majority of affected families had to rent residential flats or sought refuge in their relatives, friends or neighbours' house until such time they could rent a shelter. 

Other private structures: A total of 169 other private structures were demolished in 2019. Of these, 128 structures were located in Area C, so designated by the Oslo Accords, and 41 within the Israeli municipal borders of Jerusalem. 

Of all demolished private structures, 112 were located in close proximity to Israeli settlements, settler bypass roads, the Annexation Wall, or planned settlement areas. Critically, 97 structures used to provide a main source of livelihood to affected family members. 

At the time of demolition, 11 private structures were under construction, while others were completed buildings. Twenty-seven (27) owners of affected structures had applied for building permits either before construction or before demolition. It is worth noting that this number of permit applications is low due to the fact that the Israeli occupying authorities do not issue building permits. Hence, Palestinians generally do not submit applications for such permits. All the more so, submitted applications did not help relevant applicants receive permits nor protect them against demolition, as they had their structures demolished as well. Forty-eight (48) owners of structures with demolition notices filed requests against the demolition of their property. However, the Israeli occupying authorities rejected these official petitions and demolished all affected structures. This indicates that recourse to the legal mechanisms, which Israel claims that Palestinians can use, does not change the Israeli policy. It demonstrates that the Israeli legal apparatus is complicit with the occupation regime. 

Before their private structures had been demolished, 41 affected families were subjected to other abuses and attacks by the IOF. These violations were not necessarily related to demolitions, as the IOF demolished other structures or killed, arrested or assaulted members of these affected families. Of all demolitions, 34 structures were destroyed for at least the second time after they had been reconstructed. The owners of 82 structures reported that the Israeli occupying authorities did not allow them an opportunity to evacuate their possessions before demolitions were carried out. 

Public properties: The Israeli occupying authorities demolished 13 public facilities, including 12 in Area C. The demolished properties included nine water wells, two mosques, a tent erected in solidarity with Palestinians, and a school canteen. Eight public properties were located in the areas of Yatta and Masafer Yatta. 

Human rights organisations lodged formal objections against demolition orders, which targeted seven public facilities. These were in vain, however. Demolitions were carried out allegedly because these structures were constructed in closed military zones or on state land. Three of the demolished structures were located on the route of the Annexation Wall and one in a planned settlement area. 

 

Other Israeli violations[1]

The IOF and Israeli settlers committed hundreds of other violations throughout 2019. According to Al-Haq’s documentation, in addition to killings and demolitions, the IOF perpetrated a total of 935 abuses, including arrests, confiscation of property, injuries, house raids and searchers, beatings and physical violence, and torture. The IOF also assailed medics, denied access permits or permits to receive medical treatment, and placed restrictions on the right to freedom of movement. 

Of all other Israeli violations, Al-Haq documented 236 violations committed by Israeli settlers. Most notably, Israeli settlers attacks on Palestinian houses and pedestrians, leaving many Palestinians with injuries. They also attacked Palestinian communities, sprayed racist graffiti on walls and vehicles, and damaged wheel tyres. Israeli settlers made multiple attempts to seize control of Palestinian privately owned land, harassed and prevented Palestinians from accessing their land. Of particular note, Israeli settlers set fire to Palestinian trees and crops, cut down and uprooted trees, and stole Palestinian harvest. 

A major portion of Israeli settler attacks targeted Palestinian villages in the Nablus governorate, particularly Burin, Urif, and Huwwara. Most often, these attacks were carried out by Israeli settlers from the settlement of Yitzhar. Generally, Israeli settler violence affects the protected Palestinian population in the West Bank, including East Jerusalem. Israeli settler abuses targeted as many as 60 Palestinian cities, towns and villages. 

 

Violations by the Palestinian Authority and de facto authority in the Gaza Strip[2]

In 2019, the Palestinian Authority (PA) and de facto authority in the Gaza Strip committed many abuses. Of these, Al-Haq documented 796 violations perpetrated by Palestinian official authorities. Most prominently, compared to 135 in 2018, Al-Haq monitored 192 incidents of arbitrary detention by Palestinian authorities. 

Palestinian violations featured 19 incidents of degrading and humiliating treatment. While 27 cases were reported in 2018, summons service to report to security agencies registered a disquieting rise of 61 incidents. Violations also affected the right to humane prison conditions (49); right to freedom of opinion and expression (37); unwarranted house searches and entry (49); ill treatment, torturebeatings and/or physical violence (144); failure to enforce court decisions (9); confiscation of devices (26); and censorship of media outlets or social media platforms (47). Palestinian authorities also committed another 157 violations, including confiscation of property, injuries, abuse of power, severance of pay, and damage to house contents.

Overall, compared to 2018, there was a worrying increase in the number of violations perpetrated by Palestinian authorities in 2019. 

Additionally, Palestinian security agencies attacked and/or banned seven peaceful assemblies in 2019. These were as follows: 

  1. On 5 January 2019, the police dispersed a gathering for lighting of the flame of memory of the Fatah movement in the Gaza city. 
  2. Between 14 and 18 March 2019, a group of security personnel and civilian individuals attacked several demonstrations in the context of "We Want to Live" movement across the Gaza Strip. 
  3.